Skip to main content


Map data ©2019 Google
Free-Flow Tolling Service is a new service planning to be rolled out at government tolled tunnels and Tsing Sha control area. Motorists can pay tunnel tolls with ease by remote means using toll tags, without having to stop and queue up at toll booths for payments. In addition, there is no administrative fees for the service. The journey will be faster, smoother, and easier.
  • No Stopping
  • No Queuing Up
  • No Changing Lanes
  • No Administrative Fees

Improve Traffic Conditions

Existing Toll Plaza Free-Flow Tolling Service
Upon implementation of Free-Flow Tolling Service, the existing toll booths at toll plazas will be demolished, freeing up space for other traffic-related purposes, such as enhancement of existing bus stops. Motorists will no longer need to stop at toll booths, thereby smoothing the traffic flow, and improving the traffic conditions of tunnels.
  • Seamless Driving
  • Traveling made Easy
  • Help Improve Traffic Conditions
  • Reduce Carbon Emissions

Implementation Time Table

We will start rolling out Free-Flow Tolling Service at all government tolled tunnels and Tsing Sha control area by phases.
First Phase (Tentative)
  • Lion Rock Tunnel, Shing Mun Tunnels and Tsing Sha Control Area
Second Phase (Tentative)
  • Aberdeen Tunnel, Cross Harbour Tunnel, Eastern Harbour Crossing and Tate’s Cairn Tunnel
Western Harbour Crossing and Tai Lam Tunnel
  • The service will be implemented after the Government’s takeover of their respective ownership.

Implementation Plan

Free-Flow Tolling (Miscellaneous Amendments) Bill 2021 was passed by the Legislative Council at end of June 2021. The Secretary for Transport and Housing has also made the Road Traffic (Toll Tags) Regulation in accordance with Section 6A of the Road Traffic Ordinance (Cap. 374).
We are now carrying out preparatory works of Free-Flow Tolling Service. We will progressively implement the Free‑Flow Tolling Service at government tolled tunnels and the Tsing Sha Control Area from the end of 2022.